Larkspur Concerts presents Heavy For the Vintage

Event details

  • Sunday | June 9, 2019
  • 7:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Sunday, June 9th at 7:30 pm

Heavy For the Vintage

This band of friends touts a (mostly) light-hearted Midwestern alternative rock style that is sometimes folksy, sometimes upbeat and funky, and sometimes slow and soulful. While alt rock is certainly the foundation upon which their house was built, they don’t tie themselves to one sound and often cross and blend genres.

These bandmates grew in Nebraska soil, and their influences include literally every song they’ve ever liked. The result is a vintage that is robust on the palate with a difficult-to-achieve balance of sweetness and acidity, and a true connoisseur will detect hints of campfire and espresso as well as subtle notes of music from the 90s.

This quintet, which consists of an artist/entrepreneur, two nurses, a firefighter/paramedic, and a pastor, came together through their ties to First Christian Church in Hastings, NE. In fact, although HFTV is pretty new on the scene, these musicians have been playing music together for almost seven years now as the FCC Praise Band. Forming a secular band has given the group a means of stretching their musical legs, and while faith certainly informs some of their lyrics, they also write and sing about love, loss, and the highs and lows of life in general. Their 2019 tour set covers everything from self-love ( “Sounds Like Freedom” ), to the breakup that really was your fault ( “Tried to Tell You” ), to recognizing when you’re being a total downer and making the necessary adjustments ( “Radio, Radiate” ).
Lyrics that are clever, thought-provoking, and strikingly relevant. Melodies and harmonies that stir the soul (and vocalists who do them justice!). Drums and guitar and bass that will make the light-hearted among us dance and make even the most cantankerous curmudgeons tap their feet.


This is an act you don’t want to miss!

Valerie Bower: Lead Vocals
Kim Cyboron: Vocals
Dustin Bower: Guitar/Vocals
Ryan Cyboron: Drums
Jordan Frerichs: Bass